A guest blog from The Bedford Network

Until recently I lived and worked in London, but I decided to move back to my home town of Bedford in 2010 with my husband and our five week old baby boy to be near my Mum and Dad.  In London I had worked at Shakespeare’s Globe theatre for a few years and then moved to work at global advertising agency DDB London.  I loved working alongside creative people and didn’t think when I moved back to Bedford there would be any creative or cultural pot for me to dip my toes in.  To be honest I thought it would be the same small town I grew up in, but I was wrong and soon realised that there were people like me who wanted to see art exhibitions, live music, theatre and eat good food!  But more importantly there were people who were going to make this happen, like Kayte Judge and Erica Roffe who put their thoughts into action with We Are Bedford.  We then had the Castle Quay Weekender, Busking Festival, The Bedford Clanger and recently the incredible pop up Art Exhibition.

When I moved here I decided to start a blog www.bedfordnetwork.co.uk so that I could share with people my best experiences of Bedford.  It could be a shop, a deli, a cafe, an art exhibition – anything and everything really, but only the best make it onto the blog.  I now tweet too @bedfordnetwork and have persuaded my fabulous mum Sue Gough to join in the fun.

Bedford may be a small town, but it has big ideas.  Thanks to the work of We Are Bedford there is now a real buzz to the town and it has been an inspiration to others, like me and my mum, to start our own projects like BedfordNetwork and keep going with them.  Life has now been given to the cultural quarter of Bedford.  In fact we now have a cultural quarter!

About goodthingsltd

I am a facilitator, a creative agent, and a supporter of innovation in organizations. I am interested in the use of metaphor, storytelling and corporate folklore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

